The Official Tourism Website for Herefordshire

Waterworks Museum Hereford 7

Waterworks Museum Steam and Working Days

Steams Days at the Waterworks Museum – Hereford, when you can enjoy the sights, smells and sounds a bygone era of steam.  You can also visit on Working Days when a selection of non-steam engines and pumps are working.

Visitors can see the UK’s widest range of working pumps and engines from across Herefordshire, neighbouring counties and Wales, most of which are the last working examples of their type. Heritage engineering at its best – and wholly run by volunteers.

Dates for Open Days in 2024 are:

  • Sunday 31st March – Working Day
  • Sunday 7th April – Working Day
  • Sunday 21st April – Steam Day
  • Sunday 12th May – Steam Day
  • Sunday 26th May – Steam Day
  • Sunday 9th June – Steam Day
  • Sunday 30th June – Steam Day
  • Sunday 21st July – Steam Day
  • Sunday 11th August – Steam Day
  • Sunday 25th August – Steam Day
  • Sunday 8th September – Working Day
  • Sunday 29th September – Steam Day
  • Sunday 13th October – Working Day
  • Saturday 26th October – Steam Day

Please check website or phone 01432 342192 to check before attending Steam Days and Working Days.

The Museum is also open every Tuesday throughout the year.

Note: Working Days are when some engines and pumps are running but not the steam-powered engines.

The museum is one of Herefordshire’s leading visitor attractions with something for all ages.  Children enjoy using hands on exhibits, including in the unique Heritage Water Park, and the museum has a permanent exhibition to Hereford in WW2.  Every exhibit is waiting to tell a story.

Free admission for Children under 16.

31Mar 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
07Apr 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
21Apr 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
12May 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
26May 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
09Jun 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
30Jun 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
21Jul 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
11Aug 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
25Aug 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
08Sep 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
29Sep 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
13Oct 2411:00AM to 4:00PM
26Oct 2411:00AM to 4:00PM

Fees & Tickets

Adult: £9.00 Senior: £8.00 Student: £4.00 Under 16s: Free Admission

Event Location

Waterworks Museum - Hereford Broomy Hill, Hereford, Herefordshire, HR4 0LJ

Organiser: Waterworks Museum – Hereford

Location Map